top of page

Suspense and Crime Shows



I am a huge fan of suspense and crime shows. Arguably my two favourite shows within this genre are Mayans Mc, and Prison Break. Both shows demonstrate characteristics of the CSI effect. In Mayans MC, the character deal with gang related activates that are glamorized and exaggerated to keep audiences engaged. In Prison Break, the characters attempt (don't want to spoil it in case you haven't watched it :)) to break out of a max security prison. Explained in Schanz and Salfati, the CSI effect highlights "key positive yet unrealistic conclusions (drawn) from the information presented in (a) show regarding the quality, availability, and accessibility of forensic evidence at a crime scene" (2016, p. 61). Both Mayans MC and Prison Break impose big expectations of reality by creating exaggerated and unrealistic storylines. Because I am a fan, I am influenced by the CSI effect presented in both shows. Whenever I watch an episode of either show, I am reminded of the faulty perceptions of forensic evidence and the criminal justice system shown in these series.



コメント


bottom of page