top of page

Taste Culture #2 - Sports and Athletics



Another taste culture that has significantly impacted my life is sports and athletics. I have been an athlete my entire life. I've played numerous sports both recreationally and competitively and have gone to sporting events both locally and nationally. Along with identifying as a fan of certain sports teams and athletes, I identify as an athlete and have aspirations of making a career from sports.

“Ultimately, the media's ability to produce people's social identities, in terms of both a sense of unity and difference, may be their most powerful and important effect” (Grossberg, 2006, p. 220)

Pro Wrestling


I am a huge fan of professional wrestling. I like to joke and say I have been watching wrestling since before I was born as both my parents and grandparents watched wrestling. Over the years I have created parasocial relationships with some of my favourite wrestlers. For example, Team Extreme, consisting of Jeff Hardy, Matt Hardy, and Lita, were a WWE mixed tag team who I connected with. I specifically connected with Lita who was the only female on the team; her confidence, spunk, and power inspired and encouraged me to adopt these characteristics in my own life. For me, these wrestlers acted as catalysts for my career. I have wanted to be a professional wrestler since I was 15 years old. While this seems like an unimaginable feat, I believe the passion and determination I have garnered while watching wrestling has given me the confidence I need to achieve my goals.

What does professional wrestling and sports mean to me?


I have gone through a lot of "phases" in my life, but the one constant thing that has never gone away is professional wrestling. For me, sports has always acted as a sense of comfort and community. Whether it is connecting with wrestling characters on t.v, or engaging in real-life Rocky moments with coaches, teammates, and trainers, sports has always been there for me. This pop culture influence provided me with lifelong friends, memorable moments, and an exciting future.

Comments


bottom of page